Bahamarita. nuff’ said.

bahamarita1

My boyfriend came to visit this weekend and so I wanted to take him somewhere fun for dinner. He’d already experienced Towson’s Bill Bateman’s bistro and Red Robin, so we decidded to kick it up a notch a spend a couple extra bucks. I took him to Bahama Breeze right up by the circle on York Road. The island/Carribbean themed restaurant is like heaven to me. First off, the decor and atmosphere from the second you walk in, is my ideal dining experience. It feels as though you are on vacation and just going out to eat at your resort.

( Sidenote- Over the summer, I painted two lifesize palm trees in my bedroom of my apartment, in order to complete the beach them I have. Simply put- I’m obsessed with anything beach themed/decorated. If  Bahama Breeze were cheaper, I’d eat there once a week. )

Back to the restaurant, we grabbed a seat at the bar and started browsing the extensive list of crazy cocktails they have to offer. A girlfriend recommended I order the bahamarita, so I have it a shot. The drink came out in a pretty margarita glass garnished with orange and lime slices. A small shot of cactus shnapps was attached to the glass to add in about halfway through, or take by itself, i opted to just pour it in. The margarita was not just any margarita, the fruity combination going on was like an explosion of yumminess in my mouth. I took one sip and immediately texted my friend to say wow, you weren’t kidding.The drink consists of Cuervo gold tequila mixed with real kiwi, strawberry, and mango ices. Yummmmmmy =)

Moving onto our entree’s-  again – if the menu was cheaper we would have gotten an appetizer. College kids gotta’ tight budget! Instead, we went ahead and ordered dinner, which took me probably close to twenty minutes to order because everything on the menu is so different from typical restaurants. I couldn’t make up my mind!! Every item had words I’d never heard of, seasonings, sauces, etc. that went along with the island theme. Finally, I chose the Chicken Santiago dish. A seasoned chicken breast in a red pepper sauce that came out a vibrant tangerine color. Sauteed peppers and onions were in the mix, and a root called ‘yuca’ was along side the chicken. This root reminded me of tater tots, except softer. Tasted like potatoes to me! All in all, a delicious, classier dining experience. My crappy car even got to experience valet for the first time. All of this, under 50 bucks!! Even with a pricier menu, it turned out to be a fairly cheap treat. I can’t wait to go again!

Leave a Reply

